Clear the user cache

  • POST /_security/realm/{realms}/_clear_cache
Auth

Evict users from the user cache. You can completely clear the cache or evict specific users.

User credentials are cached in memory on each node to avoid connecting to a remote authentication service or hitting the disk for every incoming request. There are realm settings that you can use to configure the user cache. For more information, refer to the documentation about controlling the user cache.

About controlling the user cache

Required privileges

Cluster privileges manage_security

Path parameters

realms union string | string[] required

A comma-separated list of realms. To clear all realms, use an asterisk (*). It does not support other wildcard patterns.

Query parameters

usernames string[]

A comma-separated list of the users to clear from the cache. If you do not specify this parameter, the API evicts all users from the user cache.

Response

application/json
_nodes object required
total number required

Total number of nodes selected by the request.

successful number required

Number of nodes that responded successfully to the request.

failed number required

Number of nodes that rejected the request or failed to respond. If this value is not 0, a reason for the rejection or failure is included in the response.

cluster_name string required
nodes map string to object required
<string> object
name string required